Introduction to my journey

I am alive. I am grateful. I am smart.
I am a woman. I am a wife. I am a sister, daughter and a dog mother.
I am a type one diabetic.

It's taken me a long time to pull the pieces of who I am together long enough to really make sense of it. I've wanted for a long time to share my story with others. Some part of me is watching me as I type this and it thinks we are in a movie. I can hear myself narrate this as I write. It makes me feel as though my story will be worth something to someone one day.

This is supposed to be an inspiring story. One to which the main character (me), goes through life's ups and downs, trials and triumphs and learns through her mistakes and successes. This story is about the road to finding fulfillment and joy while trying to figure out a life altering disease.

It's been a long time since I've had the urge to put my journey down on virtual paper. One of my goals in life is to help people and inspire those who are looking for it. After all, that's how I've gotten here today. With the help from the Diabetes Online Community (furthermore referred to the DOC) I've been able to search for the best way for me to manage what's in my head, in my heart and in my soul.

True change only comes from within. It comes from an internal source, and you get to choose everyday whether to get up and thrive, or get up and survive. For a long time, I simply survived. Moving from one day to the next. (We will talk about those days) I am happy to say that it is no longer the case.

I am type one diabetic but it does not define me.

I am strong. I am beautiful. I am worth the fight.

2 thoughts on “Introduction to my journey”

Leave a Reply

